Message sent from:

Early Years Curriculum (Nursery and Reception)

The Nursery and Reception curriculum is delivered through a balance of child led and adult led activities. The new EYFS curriculum was introduced in September 2012 and has 7 areas of learning.
The Prime Areas of learning are:
  •  Communication and Language
  •  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  •  Physical Development.
The Specific Areas of learning are:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
Each area has specific goals called the Early Learning Goals which children are expected to achieve before they complete their time in the Early Years Foundation Stage.
At Temple we deliver the curriculum using the guidance document called Development Matters in the EYFS. This guidance provides development statements from birth to 5 years and is used to ensure that every child regardless of their age receives the correct level of activity.
In the Nursery the activities that we deliver focus primarily on the 30 – 50 months development statements and in Reception we focus on the 40 – 60 months development statements.
Our EYFS children receive a broad and balanced curriculum that is delivered through themes such as colour, light and dark, traditional tales, amazing animals and also through themes that the children themselves choose, e.g. Super Heroes, When I Grow Up, Dinosaurs.
Hit enter to search